K B Ganesh Kumar was the Minister for Forests, Sports and Cinema in the Government of Kerala from May 2011 to March 2013. He had earlier term as Transport Minister in the AK Antony cabinet from May 2001 to March 2003. He has won three consecutive elections to the State Legislative Assembly from the Pathanapuram constituency in Kollam district.

Ganesh Kumar began his career in Mollywood in 1985 with an impressive debut in the film 'Erakal'directed by K G George. Since then he has acted in a variety of Malayalam films and television serials. In May 2008, he performed a daring fire escape act at Kozhikode for the telefilm "Agnisakshiyay." In November 2008 he won the State Award for Best Television Actor (2007) for his role in the serial "Madhavam", aired on Surya TV. A recent film in which Ganesh co-starred with his young son Devaraman is scheduled for release in April 2013.

In 2001, Ganesh Kumar was elected to the Kerala Assembly from Pathanapuram on the Kerala Congress (B) ticket. This was the first time in the history of Kerala that a cine artiste had been elected to the Assembly. His father and former Minister, R Balakrishan Pillai had also been elected from the neighbouring constituency of Kottarakara, which he had represented for several decades. The father-son duo made history by becoming the first such pair to adorn the Kerala Assembly simultaneously.

Ganesh Kumar was appointed as Transport Minister in the A K Antony cabinet in May 2001. He surprised many by his political acumen and went on to give a good account of himself. Though only 34 years old and a political novice at the time, he turned around the ailing KSRTC (Kerala State Road Transport Corporation) and earned a reputation for providing a clean and efficient administration. In March 2003, he stepped down from his ministerial post to facilitate his father's induction into the Cabinet.

In the 2006 Assembly elections, Ganesh Kumar was once again elected from Pathanapuram. This time he was the only UDF candidate elected from Kollam district, where the LDF won 11 of the 12 Assembly seats.

Ganesh Kumar's hat-trick win from Pathanapuram in the 2011 elections saw him increasing his lead to 20,402 votes. This time the CPI had surrendered the ticket to the CPM, but the veteran Marxist leader, K Rajagopal, was defeated by the immensely popular sitting MLA. Ganesh Kumar went on to become a Minister in the Oommen Chandy cabinet in May 2011. He resigned on 1st April 2013 after initiating divorce proceedings against his wife who in turn accused him of domestic violence and demanded the lion's share of his property as part of a settlement hastily brokered by mediators. The matter is currently under investigation and litigation.